Skip to main content

Periclean Society (MS006)

Identifier: MS006
The Periclean Society constitution and bylaws are found in the front of the book. Membership lists and meeting minutes follow. The minutes list the topics debated, the participants, and the absentees. Members included E. J. Lee, Philip R. Fendall, J. T. Ramsay, John & William Herbert, Charles C. Lee, A. G. Bonner, John Swann, Gustavus Alexander, Francis Peyton, and Samuel Fitzhugh.


  • 1821-1824


.2 Cubic Feet (1 manuscript book)

Biographical / Historical

The Periclean Society, formed on 21 September 1821, was an Alexandria, Virginia, organization made up of many prominent male citizens. The Society met for extemporary debating and original composition writing. Meetings were held at Mechanics Hall Academy.
Periclean Society Finding Aid
Description rules

Repository Details

Part of the Local History and Special Collections Branch, Alexandria Library Repository

717 Queen Street
Alexandria VA 22314 United States